Simplify

Simplify.

reading2

I’ve been looking for a new project. The Acer Cardigan is currently wet and blocking on the floor, with luck I can get some photos and write it a proper post next week, as it actually turned out pretty cute. I have a few ideas of mittens (and by a few, you are to understand that I mean an unlimited amount). I’ve also been looking through my ‘favorites and queue’ on Ravelry for ideas for a sweater to start on as well. I am looking to continue the emptying of the big bag o’ yarn. I am always thinking about fair isle and colorwork. I love colorwork. This is what I distract myself with, this is what I think about and plan and buy fingering weight shetland yarn for. And while looking though my favorites and my queue, I found an number that I’d bookmarked for inspiration. But I also found something curious…

1. The things I am continuously favorite-ing and queue-ing are simple, striped sweaters and cardigans, or even one color cardigans with pockets or one small thing to make it not a generic plain sweater.
2. I even have a lot of generic plain sweaters favorite-ed.
3. The reason these stripes and plain pocketed sweaters are in my favorites or queue is because they struck me as well fitting and I was impressed that something so simple could be so flattering.
4. They are also there because while it is the simplest idea ever to put a row of a different color in every once in a while or a pocket on the sleeve, it strikes me as something I wouldn’t think of.
5. The reason this wouldn’t occur to me is because I’d be busy designing something with patterns and cables and circles and arrows and a paragraph on back of each one explaining what it was.

A while ago I wrote a post about what I have learned from knitting that applies to life in general. And as I’ve alluded to many times, I’m a little bit of a nutcase (assuming we understand “a little bit” to mean “totally and completely”). I am a multi-tasking list maker. I make lists of things to do, lists of how to do them all. I have all these mad plans. I’m trying to design life, figure out what I want it to look like at the end, what I want it to show of myself. What would make it worthwhile? And perhaps I’m missing the forest for the trees? Maybe I’m trying to design something impressive, with lots of patterns and twists, something that looks important. Something complicated and historically important. Maybe the thing I should incorporate and have been ignoring is a simple sweater with stripes and maybe a pocket. These appear to make an impression on me despite and in most cases because of their simplicity, and are therefore in their own way impressive. When I look at the people who impress me most, it’s of course people everyone knows about, Rosa Parks, great leaders of great nations, people who bolstered nations, had immense courage. But I also greatly admire people you’ve never heard of: the spirit of sacrifice of those on the home fronts during WWII, my grandmother and mother who raised 9 and 4 kids respectively, all who have lived to adulthood, come home every holiday, have successful durable marriages, and are generally normal successful human beings. People who just made it work. Maybe that’s worth more than I’ve considered?

Anyways, in honor of this revelation, my next sweater aim to celebrate simplicity.

One thought on “Simplify

  1. Pingback: Simpleton | Wound Up Tight!

Leave a Reply

