Productivity Catch-up

While I’ve been quite, I haven’t been too lazy! I did get a bunch of wool spun up and wound, washed and re-wound, I ended up with about 2500 yds total spun up so that’s encouraging. The Jacob fleece is about half carded and soon I’ll hopefully have that spun up!!

IMG_4996

IMG_5004

There is about 700 yds of the green/orange which I dyed from the shetland fleece I bought two years ago (FINALLY!) and 1000 yds of the deep purple, which was a free bag of wool which I wasn’t excited about when I got it, but when I started spinning, I couldn’t figure out why, because it was lovely. And two random bits of merino which will go up in the shop eventually, about 3-400 yds each of a purple sock weight and a green sport weight. Busy!

All this was partly to avoid the Cherry sweater. And this is why…

IMG_4998

See those little balls? They were salvaged from a little surgery to shorten the sweater a tiny bit when I discovered two things. (1) there was no way I had enough yarn and (2) it was about an inch too long. When one door closes, another opens… Each part was the same amount too long, so I think they were all measured correctly according to the pattern, but perhaps the pattern is an inch too long? Anyways, I did my fancy take it apart, extract some yarn, put back together trick and then came the part where I had to cross my fingers and hope it was enough. I was not up for dealing with the possibility of being a few feet short of enough yarn until two nights ago, when I decided it was now or never… And I’m pleased to say that there was in fact JUST enough yarn. Probably within 3 yards. Phew! And it looks great. It’ll be blocking tonight… Yeah! What next?

Leave a Reply

