Kitchen as a Microcosm

365.25 state of my kitchen

I was heading to bed last night at 10:30 and recalled that I hadn’t taken my 365 photo that day. To be honest, I’m pretty boring so thinking of a photo every day, especially in winter and especially housebound by mountains of snow (at least during the week) makes photo-taking pretty boring. But as I walked through the kitchen I thought that someone at least might get a kick out of my sink, especially because it isn’t theirs. It is mine, so I want to scream, but it’s a microcosm of my life at the moment.

The kitchen: There are two people in my house. Two people who don’t eat a particularly large amount, nor do we drink an exceptional amount of water, juice, wine, whatever. We just don’t. Yet, somehow, about 3 hours after doing a sink full of dishes – before they were even dry! – the sink is full again. I’m usually a ‘do the dishes before bed’ kind of person, a sink full of dishes is just ick. But last night I just gave up. The dishes needed putting away, the new dishes needed doing, the stove needs to be washed, the floors need sweeping, I just couldn’t handle it so I went to bed.

This is a miniature part of the issues this week. My eyebrows, they need plucking. Like really bad. I’ve been trying to paint my nails for about a week, I have been trying to clean the bathroom and floors for two weeks and I just can’t handle it. I have yet to put away the yarn which is spilling out of my knitting bag. The snow outside, you know, the 29″ we’ve gotten this month, on top of the 18″ last month, and just because that’s not enough, we have 9″ more coming tonight? Yeah, that’s a mess too. Where do you put more snow? I’m ready to throw up my hands and say forget it, never mind, I didn’t want to deal with February anyways, so I’ll be hibernating until April. It feels like every time I turn around there’s something else that needs doing. I’m currently avoiding putting away the dishes and doing more, cleaning the stove, putting away clothes that are piling up, and vacuuming up the salt and sand that’s coming in the door due to the aforementioned snow. I really want to call in the next few weeks and sit around and knit, that’s about all I can handle right now. Alas, that won’t get things any further, now will they. Sometimes it’s a bummer being a responsible somewhat clean adult! I’m not usually a spring person, but man, I will be SO HAPPY when it comes this year.

Leave a Reply

