Honeycomb Sweater

The Honeycomb, it is finished.

honeycomb side

I have a new jacket or cardigan. It’s pretty heavy, super warm and I’m very happy with it.
Pattern is Estes Vest from Interweave Knits, Fall 2008
Yarn, Seacolors by Nanny Kennedy, really great yarn
Started October 24th 2010, finished Jan 1 2011

honeycomb shoulders

A few things that I did that were new on this one, it’s supposed to be a vest. I am always cold, and I had enough yarn (as it turns out just enough, I probably have about 20 yards left. Yikes.) so I put on sleeves. I liked the way a lot of people had done it on ravelry, with the lobster claw pattern down the top and the honeycombs on the bottom so I copied them. That’s not the new to me part, that would be short row sleeve caps. They are brilliant. I’ll be using them frequently. They fit perfectly, they didn’t have to be sewn in, they were try-on-able, the whole thing was great. Another first was pockets. I like them. I don’t love them, but I like them, and it makes it more of a jacket. I made it 2″ longer than stated (and I’m a short person) since it looked too short on some people and the model on the pattern. Why is this often the case? I’m 5’2″ on a good day, I shouldn’t be lengthening sweaters. Also, I was brilliant at sewing in the zipper which makes me so happy.

365.2 honeycomb inside zipper

See that? That is handsewn. I have never been able to sew a straight line before so this was very exciting. And it zips up well.

honeycomb zipper

The only thing I’d change if I were to do it again is make the neck decreases on the front begin sooner. The pattern makes it the same as the back, and the front it a little too high, but it’s livable and not super obvious. I love the details on this one. The pockets, the i-cord edge, the zipper, I did a tubular cast off on the collar which is pretty neat, overall I’m really happy with this one. And with that, my knitting bag is empty. I’m off to find something new to knit.

2 thoughts on “Honeycomb Sweater

Leave a Reply

