Warm Food for a Cold Day

Sunday was a busy day (so was Saturday, but what’s new), and it was a cold day. I was able to do my first 6 mile run in over a year, which was so exciting. It was cold out, I wore my running tights for the first time this season but it felt so good to be out in the cold air. I actually had a plan for dinner, I like soup on cold days, so we had French Onion Soup.

onion_soup

Yes. Those are swim goggles. Yes. I wear them when I cut up a lot of onions. Yes, I know I look ridiculous. Any further questions? You know you secretly think it’s a far better idea than cutting off your fingers because you can’t see because you’re crying.

onion_soup1

These made the most delicious soup, with stink Gruyere cheese on the french bread made the soup, it was great. I was running out of steam, but since I was in the kitchen stirring the onions anyways, I figured I’d make the Cranberry Chutney for Thanksgiving while I was at it.

orange_slices

cranberry_chutney

This was delicious also. And it certainly warmed up the kitchen.

Now I just have to make 40 rolls and make it through the rest of the work week and we’re home free.

Leave a Reply

