A Sweater and some thoughts

So “salina” has morphed into something different but equally as pleasing. You’ll remember that I started thinking I was terribly clever, I was going to knit a quarter zip sweater (with buttons) with set in sleeves in the round. This yarn is handspun and I didn’t quite get gauge so I guestimated… math was invented for a reason. To do it. Attempt one was too wide in the shoulders. So I ripped it out and tried again. This time the collar didn’t sit right, I forget exactly what happened, but it somehow was a sweater fail. So I ripped it out again, tried again, and finally cried uncle. The quarter zip idea just wasn’t working for whatever reason the way I wanted it to go.

handspun sweater

So I ripped back to where the sleeves join the body, and did a simple EZ yoked top. A few short rows in the back so it didn’t sit funny at the top, and a seed stitch border and I called it a day. Overall I love the fit, and the sweater, although different from what I’d imagined, will be a staple in my wardrobe. To jazz it up I’m considering keeping my eye out a brooch or something so there’s something interesting going on.

handspun sweater

The back isn’t really bunchy. Only other thing of note is the sleeve are a bit short. This was done partially on purpose (as in they’re short enough to be short on purpose, not JUST too short) in response to there being slightly less yarn than expected. But after all of the iterations of the top, I’ve got a bit more yarn. I’m considering ripping back and making full length sleeves, I think there’s enough to make that happen.

Thoughts?

Anyways, I’m pleased to have it done and done so well. And I’ve learned a lot about knitting and designing, but also about me. My two most enduring hobbies have taught me more than all the schooling and job experience and everything else put together. I have a whole post in my head about all the things that running has taught me. More on topic here is what knitting has taught me.
1. A stitch in time saves nine. For real. This one is true, trying the shortcut way typically leads to going back to the beginning and doing it again, sadder and wiser this time.
2. Patience. This comes from #1. I’ve learned so much about patience from both knitting and running.
3. No matter how much you think you know, there’s SO much more out there.
4. There’s a place for everything. Several times I’ve found myself thinking “Shetland! This is the greatest yarn ever! I never want to knit with anything else, ever!!” and then a few months later, “Bulky! Why would anyone ever knit with anything but bulky!!” I’ve done this enough to know there’s a place for every yarn. This goes for most things. Food, people, book genres, cultures… etc.
5. Mistakes happen. Get used to it. (I’ve learned this one, I’m still lousy at applying it)
6. Tradition is beautiful.
7. New ideas are beautiful.
8. Things don’t always turn out the way you expected. It’s either
a. totally different and good, and in that case, hurrah!
b. It could be totally different and terrible, in which case see 5, if possible go back and fix it.
c. It could be very close but there’s this little stitch, see it, over there? Yeah, I screwed up there. Well, no one else will see it, so there’s no need to point out this (or that dinner is a tad too salty, or you really wanted your hair a little more like that instead) to anyone, they won’t notice and will think it is just fine the way it is.
9. It is totally worth fixing things that you don’t like that it’s possible for you to fix.
10. Working on things you enjoy is way more satisfying than working on things that don’t. (duh). And consequently you get better at things you like than things that are boring. And life is way too short to do something you don’t like and aren’t good at, right? (This is the part where someone offers to pay me to do what I want)…

4 thoughts on “A Sweater and some thoughts

Leave a Reply

