Lady of Leisure

There are many days that I think that what I was really meant to be was a lady of leisure. I really was meant to do what I want all day. I decided this while reading Jane Austen’s Mansfield Park and the characters were planning a ball… on a Thursday. My first response was “Who is going to be able to go to that?? Won’t they have to get up on Friday?!” and then it hit me that no, no they wouldn’t. Ladies of leisure (and gentlemen) do not have to get up any day. There is no issue of a Thursday night ball. This absolutely dumbfounded me and I’ve decided ever since that I was meant to be like that.

Alas, I also seem to need money, and therefore a job. But sometimes, there’s a few hours when you can PRETEND you’re a lady of leisure. You can wake up, get the laundry on the line (because you don’t want to be useless, just not pressed to do anything really hard. Like get up at 5:30 or 6 to workout before going to work for 9 hours, then get home and THEN have to do the laundry), get some coffee and sit on the porch and knit.

 Morning Coffee

IMG_0629

Knitting

Notice that the now-faux-salina has been taken out of time out and is in the process of having a more reasonably sized yoke put on so that she too can be useful.

Most of the time I’m running around like a chicken without a head, and the afternoon got cloudy, misty, rainy gross, and we had to drive back to the real world but it was very nice to sit on the porch for a few hours this past Saturday. Knitting was followed by a nap, as any self-respecting lady of leisure needs her beauty sleep.

Leave a Reply

