Granola

Somehow this week has been super busy and the granola just didn’t happen until tonight, which is bad news. Breakfast around here is usually granola and yogurt, and in the absence of granola, I’m afraid I tend to eat crap.

granola in pan

The recipe I use came from one of my favorite blogs and it goes something like this:

6 c rolled oats (not quick, old fashioned)
2 c nuts of your choice (walnuts, sunflower seeds, peanuts, whatever)
2 tsp (or more, I use more, but I love cinnamon) cinnamon
a few shakes cardamom
1 tsp salt

toast the nuts in the skillet (my favorite pan ever), add spices, mix it up really well
Mix separately then add to the pan and mix very well:
1/2 c oil (I use veggie, you could use any fat, I think)
3/4 c maple syrup (or you can mix it with honey, or I would imagine any liquid sugar, total of 3/4 cups) (Also, REAL maple syrup. Never buy the other crap. It makes me sad that it exists)

Put it in the oven at 275F and mix it around every 15 min for a total of 1 hour. The mixing is to expose new granola to dry it out at the top, so mix it up good.

It is delicious and pretty good for you, really. You have control over the fat and sugar and I don’t enjoy commercial granola as much as this one. Less fat is fine, it will just be very dry. Less sugar is probably ok too, but it gives a great taste.

granola close

Happy Friday.

Leave a Reply

