Pizza Chronicles, Part 2

Part one from last Friday showed a dud with a long 24 hour rise. Upon further thought, I propose that the second rise didn’t hgo well because I used a cup of starter, which from reading some recipes may have been too much, or at least too much for the flour it had, which it probably ate in the first rise then was starving for the second. Yeast eats flour and makes gas which is where bubbles come from. No food, no eat, no bubbles = hard bread. So I have ammended the process. This Friday I started this morning for a 12 hour rise not 24, and used 1/4 cup of starter instead of a cup, so it wouldn’t run out of food before it’s baking time.

Roughly (since I didn’t measure)
1/4 c starter
2 c white flour
1/2 c water
some (1 tbs?) olive oil
2 tsp sea salt
mix, knead, wait 8 hours, knead, rise 4 hours, make pizza, cooked at 450F for something like 15-20 minutes.

WIN WIN WIN!!!! It’s delicious, has a great texture, and tastes fantastic. Super excited with this one. Next time I’ll try with less starter 24 hours and see how that goes. The crust was very thin when I stretched it out, but it worked great, nice and crispy and strong.

IMG_0573

IMG_0576

In other news, since I’m an active unwinder (I need to putter around the house and pick up and do some things when I get home, I can’t sit right down and relax, it just doesn’t work) I walked down to the local nursery type place near us and picked up and planted in pots some herbs: Lots of basil, some oregano, dill, rosemary, spearmint, and to my great pleasure the discovery of CHOCOLATE MINT!!! It’s a mint with a hint of chocolate scent. I think this is the greatest thing ever. I planted it. I will use it. It will be delish.

herbs

I am pleased that I can now have my mint juleps. Why this drink is not more popular, I have no idea, but I’ll try to revive it. It is delicious.

Happy Friday.

Leave a Reply

