Too hot for much else

G&T

There is nothing else to do. The cats are spread out with as much exposed belly as possible, moving much causes perspiration, there’s nothing else to do besides pour a gin and tonic and head out to the porch for some reading. I remember summers at the cape or the Jersey Shore in particular, gin and tonics being the drink of choice of my parents. Gin I knew nothing of, tonic and lime I was sure were not good things to consume, but put together, as an adult, I can see there’s nothing better for when the temperatures are too high to do anything else.

As for the choice of literature, I recently read a book called Unlikely Allies: How a merchant, a playwright, and a spy Saved the American Revolution, by Joel Richard Paul. I typically don’t read biographies, because they don’t sound interesting, and while this wasn’t one, it was kind of one, since the author was in love with Silas Dean, only a stealth biography. And I really enjoyed it. However, I found it interesting. And it pointed out a few things: (1) Are biography authors always so very in love with their subjects? (2) I am from Connecticut, and never learned who Silas Dean was… this isn’t so good and (3) as it turns out, my knowledge of the Revolutionary War is VERY shaky, at best. I know we won… and got a 5 on my AP US history exam…

So I’ve decided that since I now reside in the Boston area, and while I know the name, when pressed I probably previously couldn’t tell you much about John Adams, besides he signed the Declaration of Independence (which I’ve never read), I really ought to read this book. And it’s really pretty interesting, I’m learning a lot. And enjoying sitting on the porch. There are a lot of things I should know but don’t, and I try to read a book a month (I’m cheating and counting books on tape, which I can listen to while spinning or knitting). So I’m hoping that by the time I’m an old person, I know a lot more than I do now.

Leave a Reply

