Success!!

When I last left, I was holding a rather daunting pile of wound yarn. Well, I knit and I knit and I hoped and I hoped, and now the Mr. has a new sweater. I was lucky that the gauge was exactly the same as what I was trying to copy, so I just got out my crayons and graph paper, copied the patten from the photo onto the graph paper, and followed directions.

Gregs-j-crew06

It’s a simple raglan, and I took measurements from a sweater that he has that fits to get the chest measurement, arm length, etc.

Gregs-j-crew07

The original didn’t worry about making a coherent pattern around the raglan decreases, so neither did I, and it worked out just fine.

Gregs-j-crew08

Overall, I’m very happy with it. It fits, it is the right color, it is the right pattern, and most importantly, the Mr. loves it. So yeah me!!

Gregs-j-crew12

And so now I’m back to my Wallace and Grommet. Which is to say, still in my jammies with a sweater that has no sleeves and comes down to my belly button and strings hanging off the side. But no matter. But with any luck in a week or so, it will be more presentable. It won’t be getting sleeves, so really it’s just sleeve cuffs and another few inches of pattern. So I have that going for me.

jammies

1 thought on “Success!!

Leave a comment